In Australia, there are specific grading standards for timber flooring.

Grading denotes the measure of how natural they appear; marks and distinctive attributes. Choosing the grade of timber to use for your flooring boils down to individual taste, some people may prefer a more natural wood with unique marks and features while others may prefer a clean timber grade.


Grades & Size

– The Select Grade (which is often categorized as the Prestige or Classic Grade)

The select grade is more of a clean solid timber grade, though it presents less natural marks and distinctive attributes, its simplicity and versatility make it highly sought for. The select grade timber has a more consistent and lustrous appearance which makes it an excellent choice for different kinds of setting be it traditional or modern. It will always pop.

– Standard Grade

The Standard grade is very different from the select grade timber, and it features distinct gum veins, insect trails, burls, and other natural attributes. The standard grade is a natural design timber grade and lately has been increasing in popularity. As a natural design timber grade, it features a variety of fascinating marks and effects.

– Character Grade (which is often categorized as the Antique or Rustic Grade)

The character grade presents the highest level of naturally occurring distinctive features which could comprise of knots, gum veins, insect trails, face checking, and multiple colour shades. People who are on the lookout for a natural appearance usually incline towards the character grade due to its natural and rustic patterns.

A majority of the hardwood floorings you can get at Timber Flooring Solutions are in sizes; 80 x 19mm, 130 x 19mm and 180 x 21mm boards. If you need broader or narrower sized boards, you can request for a special order.   


Timber flooring is categorized into three unique colour groups. Which are the Reds, Browns and natural colours. Timber floorings are featured in a huge array of patterns; each pattern has its distinct colour blend and character.

The colour of the timber flooring your residential or commercial area could change due to specific reasons. Either because of the finish applied or physical factors like direct natural sunlight or poor cleaning and maintenance.

Photos and samples may not always provide an accurate representation of the colour and grade of a timber species you have selected.


The Janka Hardness Scale is a scale of measurement which is used to determine and classify the hardness of wood into three categories. The standard unit of measurement of the Janka Hardness Scale is in units of force.

The Janka Hardness Rating which is used to calculate the relative hardness of a particular timber species measures the required force to drive in a steel ball of diameter .444 inch to .222 inch in a piece of the particular wood species that the test is carried out on. The results are presented in pounds of force per square inch. Therefore, a higher result indicates the wood is harder and vice versa. Wood hardness is of utmost necessity because it is one of the critical factors in choosing the types of hardwood floor. Your floor should be based on the resistance your wood has to indentations and scratches. In a situation, where you have a pet with very long claws which scratches on the floor should, it is advised you select a type with outstanding resistance to external activities. You should go for either; Blackbutt, Ironbark or Spotted Gum.

Although the Janka Hardness scale only assists in distinguishing woods based on their density and hardness. It can be a fantastic factor in determining how much wear and tear a specific wood can handle. The woods found in the upper section of the Janka scale that is from 12 and above tend to withstand denting much more than softer woods and those with a rating below 6. The Janka rating can also help in ascertaining how hard a particular wood will be to nail or saw.


High Ranking

– Bamboo and harder woods can be located in the upper section of the Janka scale and are notably recommended for areas with high traffic such as in businesses and homes. Woods that high in ranking includes Strand Woven Bamboo, Grey Box, Iron Bark, and Ebony.

Medium Ranking

– Medium density woods are fantastic for a lot of home applications such as dining rooms and living rooms. Some woods may not be advised for kitchen use. They include Ash, Standard bamboo, Brush box, Blackbutt and Blue gum.

Low Ranking

– Woods found on the lower section of the Janka scale are best suited for low traffic places such as closets and bedrooms. Some types of soft wood include Chestnut, BlackBerry, Rose Wood, Black Cherry, Teak, Ash and American Oak.

Common nameBotanical nameColour descriptionHardness (janka)(kN)
Brush BoxTristania confertaDark pink to rich red9.5
Spotted GumCorymbia maculataMid to dark brown with olive hue11.0
Stringy BarkEucalyptus sppCreams, browns, pinks, varied7.5-8.8
Grey BoxEucalyptus microcarpaPale Yellowish brown15
Grey IronbarkEucalyptus paniculataPale brown to dark chocolate, brown16.3
BlackbuttEucalyptus gummiferaCream to pale brown8.8
Satin AshEucalyptus viminalisPale browns, golds, light, creams6
TallowwoodEucalyptus microcorysCream, dark to yellow brown8.6
White MahoganyEucalyptus acmenoidesCream to grey brown10
Northern Rivers CreamsMixedCreams, pale browns, yellow, honey
Amber AshEucalyptus gummiferaPink to dark red8.8
Rose Gum(flooted)Eucalyptus grandisPale pink to dark orange red7.5
Grey GumEucalyptus propinquaRed browns to pink14.0
Red MahoganyEucalyptus resiniferaPale to dark red12.0
TurpentineSyncarpia glomeriferaRed brown to deep red12.0
Blue GumEucalyptus salignaDark pink to rich red9.0
Red IronbarkEucalyptus sideroxylonDeep red to yellow sapwood11.9
Northern Rivers RedsMixedReds, pinks, burgundies


Or request your FREE in-home consultation

Your Preferred Contact Method: